Do HHC gummies contain animal gelatin?

Screenshot 2022-03-31 at 22.24.40
Table of Contents

Things have gotten more inclusive in the ever-expanding cannabis sector. Edibles, such as Delta 8, 9, and even CBD gummies have recently been trending towards the vegan side. HHC gummies are also a superb option that you can try.


Have you heard about the recent buzz around HHC? You are not alone in your curiosity regarding HHC; we have all been curious about it. Hexahydrocannabinol, or HHC, is a lesser-known cousin of THC. Although it came to light in the 1940s, it is only now that people are talking about it.

The cannabis business is developing a complete selection of cannabinoid products to meet client requirements after legalizing delta-8 products. HHC originates from hemp-derived CBD, much like delta-8 THC. HHC, on the other hand, does not contain THC. As a result, it has a legal advantage compared to delta-8, delta-9, and delta-10.

You have undoubtedly come across the phrase vegan on the box or jar at least once if you like a gummy now and then. You have undoubtedly also questioned what makes vegan gummies different from typical gummies. We have mentioned a few keynotes about how they vary and what sets them apart. Suppose you have dietary limitations, allergies, or live a vegan lifestyle. In that case, you will comprehend what makes vegan gummies unique and whether they are healthier for you or not after reading this article.

Let us look at what vegan gummies are all about without further ado.

What Are Vegan Gummies and How Do You Make Them?

Simply put, vegan gummies do not include any animal-derived ingredients. Instead of utilizing animal-derived components, businesses like agar-agar employ algae and other replacements to be vegan-friendly.

A product cannot be vegan if it includes gelatin, beeswax, or even shellac. Traditional sweets often contain these substances because of the cost, manufacturing procedure, or tradition. Vegan goods have flooded numerous marketplaces and have become the norm in most food-grade businesses, including the cannabis industry. Most firms are now attempting to offer or include vegan choices to let more people test their goods. Vegan candies are an excellent way to include cannabis-infused goods into your daily routine without worrying about dietary limitations or adding extra animal-based components.

What Is the Process for Making Vegan Gummies?

Gummies traditionally incorporate gelatin, which originates from animal skin, bones, and ligaments. On the other hand, vegan gummies should not cause you any concern if you are concerned about chemicals in your diet.

Algae is present instead of animal matter in vegan candy. Agar-agar is a kind of algae that is widely present in Japanese confectionery. It is possible to give gummies the same bouncy and chewy consistency as conventional candy by grinding and refining dried algae into dust. Regular gummies and certain cannabis-infused sweets include beeswax and shellac, both standard components. By boiling the honeycomb and adding a glossy layer for presentation, beeswax gives it a less sticky shape.

Shellac, a confectioner’s coating used in certain candies, is another example. This processed glaze is present to give certain sweets an additional gloss. Shellac originates using the secretion of the lac bug, a parasitic insect that prefers to reside on trees on the South Asian continent.

Some producers utilize pectin, natural juice concentrate, or sour sugar sprinkled on top to replace these ingredients. Like Sour Patch Kids, this is generally simply a combination of citric acid and sugar.

Vegan Gummies Have Many Advantages

Here are some of the advantages we have discovered by switching to vegan cannabis-infused gummies:

  • Free of gelatin, dairy, and beeswax. These candies will not include any animal by-products and are safe to ingest whether you can not or do not want to due to dietary constraints.
  • A label that you can read. To keep goods stable, most manufacturers utilize a variety of components and substances. Vegan goods are frequently more “clean,” relying only on sugar, pectin, or algae to maintain the desired consistency.
  • Inclusivity. Many individuals have allergies to animal by-products or choose not to consume them because of their principles. By consuming vegan goods, you are helping to mainstream vegan items in the cannabis world. As a result, you also support “spreading” the cannabis industry to a broader audience.
  • Gummies have the same taste and consistency as ordinary gummies. Do not worry about odd textures or flavors with vegan cannabis-infused candies; they taste like typical sweets.

Are They a Better Option?

Yes, in a nutshell. Vegan gummies are fantastic since they are made entirely of natural materials and do not include animal by-products. Even if you do not have a vegetarian or vegan diet, they may help avoid common allergies like dairy, gelatin, or beeswax.

Now you know which goods are vegan and which aren’t and how switching your old consumables for a juicy and tasty gummy might benefit you.

Gelatin is present as a basis in the majority of cannabis candy.

While it is a common misconception that gelatin originates from “horses’ hooves,” this has not been the case for a long time. But the truth is not much better: gelatin is a by-product of the meat and leather industries, manufactured from the skin, bones, and connective tissue of livestock animals. Pigs are now the primary source of gelatin.

Pectin is present in vegan gummies.

As a result, vegan gummies produced with pectin rather than gelatin could be a better choice. It is not conditional for you to be a vegan to avoid using animal by-products in your cannabis edibles because, let us face it, that sounds disgusting.

Citrus fruits contain pectin.

The welfare and health of the animals are not the only factors to consider. Fruits and vegetables contain pectin, which is a fibrous component. Overall, pectin results in a higher-quality product. It is more flavorful and has a superior texture. Citrus fruits are mainly present in meals. Wana put more than 30 different varieties of fruit pectin to the test, and the result is gummies that have the correct consistency and taste juicy, just like natural fruit.


Gelatin and pectin have different properties.

Pectin contains fiber and carbs, while gelatin does not; gelatin includes protein. Sugar and an acid supply are both required for pectin to gel liquids. Sugar is not necessary for gelatin to gel. Pectin thickens with heat, but gelatin needs a cold temperature and time in the refrigerator to solidify. Pectin has a lot of fiber, which may help you decrease your total cholesterol and your LDL, or bad cholesterol. Pectin’s fiber might help you lose weight, while gelatin’s protein is naturally complete.


Vegan-friendly goods are becoming commonplace in almost all food-grade businesses, including the cannabis industry. However, words may get confusing. Ensure that you conduct thorough research before you go shopping.

Share this post
You Might Also Like: